Skip to content

[question] HOW MUCH DO YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR ONLINE IDENTITY?

December 9, 2010

In my “check-in” on Monday, I talked about the questions that have been circulating in brain about whether I need to worry about the personal brand that I’ve established over the past two years. Many comments came in, saying that “being yourself” is the best strategy.

As you engage with the world wide web, how much is “online identity” important to you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 2:25 PM

    T H I S B I G! :)

    • danielbaylis permalink
      December 9, 2010 10:19 PM

      Woah. That’s big.

  2. December 9, 2010 2:29 PM

    I’m not important enough to care about my “brand”

  3. December 9, 2010 3:26 PM

    I don’t want a brand.
    I doubt I need to worry about it anyways… I am that which I am

  4. Jeffrey C permalink
    December 9, 2010 9:29 PM

    I try to only engage online in ways that will make you worship me and bring me expensive gift from your travels.

    But seriously. I find myself a bit more sensitive to what I say online when I am in forums interacting with people who know me differently (professionally vs. personally, etc.) just to respect the different contexts through which they will filter the remarks.

  5. December 9, 2010 11:15 PM

    I hate “be yourself.” As if there’s an already designated blueprint to which we can simply adhere.

    I think we are able to define and refine our “selves” at every step, and the rule I most believe in is “make yourself proud.”

    I love watching as our “selves” and the other “selves” around us while we all keep growing.

    As we talk about personal brand, I’d offer that your personal brand must be an extension of your honest experience, even as you grow and change, or else you’ll find yourself trapped by it. And that’s when Britney Spears goes and shaves her head, or beats in the sides of cars with golf clubs.

  6. gilles gosselin permalink
    December 10, 2010 1:13 AM

    I have this?

Leave a Reply

