Skip to content

[poses] THE PHOTOGRAPHY OF PAUL SPECHT

October 6, 2010

I first met photographer Paul Specht last year when he was in Montreal to capture the wedding of two beautiful lady friends. I was impressed by the romantic quality of the images that he created, as well as his cheerful disposition.

A few weeks ago I received a message from Paul with a delightful invitation.

From his home in western Massachusetts, he inquired, “I am heading up to Montreal this weekend. I was curious to know if you might be interetsed in posing for a roll of film?”

My response: “Um, yes please!”

Two days later I was pursing my lips and striking map poses all over my apartment, while his fancy Hasselblad camera attempted to capture my soul. We spent two hours exploring various poses, while tinkering with lighting and angle. It gave me insight into the process of portraiture; it’s equal parts art and science. And if I learned anything, it’s that being a model is tough work! Can someone peel me a grape?

I’m going to be selecting one the portraits to add a bit of diversity/purdiness to my online albums.

Which photograph is your favorite?

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Contact Paul

www.paulspecht.com

www.facebook.com/PaulSpechtPhotography

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    October 6, 2010 10:46 AM

    I like the first one you selected as your cover intro… wow – great photos. I didn’t know you had brown eyes????

    • danielbaylis permalink
      October 6, 2010 11:13 AM

      @Lisa – Très drôle. You know very well how I suffered for these blue eye implants.

  2. Jeffrey permalink
    October 6, 2010 1:27 PM

    They are all great but I love the one in the kitchen.

  3. donna lee permalink
    October 6, 2010 4:50 PM

    I like the last one you can see your blue eyes really well.

  4. October 6, 2010 5:06 PM

    The second (kitchen) and 6th (back jacket photo.)

  5. Eric permalink
    October 6, 2010 7:06 PM

    I’m torn, either the frist kitchen one, or the following with the photos in the background.

  6. Rob permalink
    October 6, 2010 7:49 PM

    The second last one cuz it shows just a hint of the start a smile which proves you are fun as well as serious..

  7. October 6, 2010 8:00 PM

    Your eyes are piercing in all of them; it’s a little unsettling! Stop looking at me like that… I think the kitchen one is my favorite.

    PS I <3 Paul!

  8. dpaint4 permalink
    October 7, 2010 11:57 AM

    Like Pokemon, I have collected them all.

  9. October 7, 2010 12:51 PM

    I like the fourth one with the pics in the background. Are you wearing a Native American necklace?

  10. October 7, 2010 1:54 PM

    Yes, I discovered the photography of Paul Specht through you (from an earlier post of yours). I’m not especially a photography enthusiast, but his work is so artful and so like fine drawings or paintings. I wrote him a short but gushing note, and he very kindly and politely replied.

    He’s my artistic hero.

    • danielbaylis permalink
      October 7, 2010 2:55 PM

      @Bill – I would love for you guys to work together. I think posing would do you good. Work it.

  11. October 15, 2010 8:24 PM

    They’re all great!

    Favourite?
    The top one of you on the couch

    Second favourite: the one of you standing infront of the stove.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

